APA Indiana Awards

Nomination Information

The Hoosier Planning Awards program was created to recognize professional excellence and outstanding examples of urban planning by the Indiana Chapter of the American Planning Association. These awards honor works that represent the forefront of the profession and embody high levels of creativity and imagination. 

The Hoosier Planning Awards are juried by the Awards Committee of APA Indiana, with committee members recusing themselves from both the discussion of the award and voting for the award if they were involved with the nominated organizations in the past or present.  

The awards program is open to any individual, firm, agency or institution for both projects in Indiana as well as projects located outside of Indiana, provided there was principal involvement by a member or members in good standing with our chapter. Nominated projects must be three years old or less at the time of nomination to be considered for an award.

The program includes two award categories: the Hoosier Planning Awards and the Sagamore Award.

The Hoosier Planning Award offers the following categories for submissions: 

Achievement in Planning Awards

  • Best Practice
  • Outstanding Comprehensive Plan
  • Outstanding Economic Development Planning
  • Outstanding Environmental Planning
  • Outstanding Transportation Planning
  • Outstanding Urban Design
  • Outstanding Grassroots Initiative
  • Outstanding Implementation
  • Outstanding Outreach & Communication
  • Outstanding Student Project

Excellence in Planning Awards

  • Planning Advocate
  • Planning Pioneer
  • Planning Landmark

The Indiana Planning Sagamore (which is bestowed as a cumulative career achievement award) honors professional planners who have made a significant contribution to the profession and their community.   

Nominations will open in the fall of 2024.

For a complete pdf document outlining eligibility and submission requirements for this year's awards, use the link below. 

2024 Hoosier Planning Awards Form